Velomobile at Alternatiba in Montreuil

Montreuil is a part of Paris. During the 5-6th of December there was a huge meeting called The Global Village of Alternatives.
There was 28.000 people visiting the area. I myself was mainly inside my velomobile telling time after time what a velomobile is.
So, here, once more who did not hear my story, the short story:
A velomobile is a fast bicycle. Top speed for my velomobile has been 96,7 km/h and the average speed on flat asphalt is 35-45 km/h. The maybe most interesting thing is that I actually now in my work as a coordinator for the county branch of The Swedish Society for Nature Conservation in Norrbotten County is using the velomobil to transport myself around in the county that is covering 25% (98 245 km²) of the area of Sweden. That is more than the area of both Netherlands (41 526 km²) and Belgium (30 528 km²) combined (72 054 km²). Yes, and as I had not checked the numbers before telling the story, I have been telling too low numbers to people about how big the county of Norrbotten actually is!
One of the numbers that I have mentioned was that you could take away one third of the cars in Paris immediately and replace them with velomobiles. In that way you could get much more space, less pollution and emissions of CO2 and a smoother traffic. Of course I have not counted on that, but look – the most cars are just only standing there along the side of the streets!

Here some photos from the two days in Montreuil.

IMG_1820

IMG_1822

IMG_1824

IMG_1825

IMG_1829

IMG_1892

IMG_1893

IMG_1894

IMG_1900

IMG_1902

IMG_1905

IMG_1913

IMG_1914

IMG_1923

IMG_1926

IMG_1927

IMG_1940

IMG_1941

Kommentera

